Getting Started With AI

Getting Started With AI

So, you are ready to use AI chat. Maybe you had some reservations at first but now have more ease. Or you have realized that AI could make life or business easier. Even if you haven’t checked off either of those yet but are still curious about ways you can use AI, I’m here to help you get started.

You can use AI chat on your desktop but if you are like me, you will likely use it the most on your phone. If so, there is an app. There are multiple chatbots now but the most popular to date are ChatGPT and Bing. When you open the app, you will see a microphone symbol. You press it to speak, or you can type a prompt or question.

An example question you may ask is “What are some of the top ways a Christian entrepreneur can use chat GPT to grow their business?” It is nice because don't even have to worry about the spelling or grammar for it to understand.

I clicked generate in ChatGPT and this is how it answered: “Certainly, a Christian entrepreneur can leverage that GPT in various ways to grow their business. Content creation, customer support, product recommendations, marketing campaigns, script writing, and idea generation.” Ideas in a matter of a couple of seconds.

I have a list of prompt ideas for you that I have used AI for. I’ve used it recently to create an agreement - a legal document. My son said that one of his goals was to play basketball. I did a quick query, “Better basketball for kids” and showed it to him. I use it to find quotes. I’ve used it for fun family conversation starters. I was out to dinner with the family and asked, “What are some fun family conversation starters for an 8-year-old and a 14-year-old with their parents?”

I'm getting into yogurt making, so I had it tell me how to do that. I heard somebody talk about a token. I'm like, what the heck is a token? A token in ChatGPT is like a quantity of data. I had to calculate some investment returns. I had to pull up some Mediterranean low-carb breakfasts. We looked up puppy care stuff. We're selling a car. And I had to pull up what I needed, what legal stuff I needed for selling a car in North Carolina. Puppy training commands.

Then there are my infamous Lego car racing tips. When building a LEGO car for a downhill, pine, or derby-type race, what are the best tips to win? It gave me 10 tips. And then I asked what about the axle distribution? Is it better to go wide, or is it better to go narrow? Is it better to have the front and back axles closer together or farther apart? And just like that, it told me what to do.

That's a lot of different ways to use AI. When I have something now, I'm training myself to go there first because it just, it's so efficient. It is important to remember, we are to be the head, not the tail. The chatbot is never the head. I'll download an idea, or a concept and I use chat GPT to refine it, move my thinking downfield, and expand my thinking.

I'd like to go over two principles of design, or first principles as we call them. Number one is you start small, and you finish big. That's first the blade, then the ear, then the full corn in the ear. The way you refine the AI is to start with simple things. You throw a prompt into the system and then you get an output. We’ve talked about input, system, output, and feedback. And then you look at the output and you're like, I want more of this, less of that. So, you communicate that with it. And then over time, you just refine it.

Whatever training you program in that individual chat retains in that individual chat. It is specific to that chat. So, you can't have a new chat and refer to the old chat. If you have a new topic, you will want to jump into the old subject to continue that conversation.

That's the first principle, start small, finish big, refine, sharpen. The second principle is, again, incredible about this tool it's 80% done almost instantly. Staring at a blank page is one of the most non-productive things any human can do. It's incredibly daunting. If you look at authors, if you look at creators, if you look at artists, it's universal. There's a lot of hacks that have emerged. Like Hemmingway, when he was typing, he would finish in the middle of a sentence. His subconscious could just percolate on that, and he'd come in and he would always just pick up right back where he left off.

So, staring at a blank page is incredibly ineffective timewise, energetically, and I'll call it flow-wise. So, what's nice about this tool is you start small, finish big, and you get to 80% fast, and you're not looking at a blank page. Those are really the greatest levers, in my opinion.

A danger to keep in mind, I don't want anybody thinking that they need to go buy prompt packs or prompt, hire prompt engineers. You don't need any of that. Just use your brain. Tell the AI that you want more of this, less of that. You don't need to be codependent. Just use it. Practice, you'll get better, you'll understand. You'll move it to 70%. This is something people can deploy today. You don't need a coaching program. You don't need shiny objects. You don't need somebody trying to overcomplicate it.

Another thing to note, and this is a weird thing, but I think it's important. You can give the AI a prompt, if it spits something back, you can tell it that it’s stupid. And it will understand you don't want that. But I encourage you, as you make this more a part of your life, to always practice the way we communicate in real life. Politely. What I don't want to do is to get in the zone of commanding AI, and then I start commanding my friends, my wife, and my kids. People.

So, as you interface with it more, just treat it like you would treat anyone else. Not because someday, AI is going to take over the world and they'll remember who was nice. None of that nonsense. It's just because you're doing reps and you just want to practice excellence every time you do it, everywhere you do it. You can say in the chat “Thank you, that was good, great job. Here's what I'd like to do more of.” That's how I would talk to you. So, that's how I'm going to talk to the software. And again, not because there's anything weird or woo-hoo-y, it's just because I want to practice effective communication whenever I'm communicating.

Even before AI, quick and shortened communication has happened from how we interact on the Internet or social media. Then when you're face to face with the person, we’re like, “Oh, how do I talk?” Some folks don't know how to be social around people because of the way they communicate digitally. I was ranting on this the other day about going out to dinner with my family and telling them to talk to each other. Do some conversation prompts.

For most people, their thumbs are ripped. It's like the dude that goes to the gym, and he's got big biceps but chicken legs. What we don't want is we don't want our tongue to become a vestigial organ, like the appendix or the tailbone, or wisdom teeth. We don’t want to become one of those people who sit texting the person across from each other.

Also, AI isn’t a friend. I was talking to my coach, and I was sharing with him that we had found a puppy. He said something about how he had this big mastiff and one time the dog was overly aggressive with his daughter, and it wasn't listening. So, he threw the dog down, he kneeled on its neck, the dog peed, and there was never any problem ever again. We downloaded a training app for the puppy, and one of the commands was no. Then my wife talked to a trainer that was recommended by the vet, and the trainer said you can't say no. That reinforcement doesn't work anymore. My coach and I were joking that that's just the most ridiculous thing we ever heard.

In the same way that today people see pets as human family people, it's a dog. There's no presence of the Lord. I love animals. I wept like a babbling baby when we found out that we had to give the puppy to another home. But in the same way, AI is not equal. It's software. It's a spreadsheet. It's a Google Sheet. It's just a very sophisticated search engine. And I know I'm not saying that exactly right, but I don't care because that's all it is. It doesn't have any, there's no human element, there's no cognition, there's no sentience. It’s not a friend, it's a tool. And I think for the, especially for the Christian, that's very important because when you talk to it, it's very, eerie until you get used to it. They simply programmed in that level of connection.

AI is a tool. I hope this helped in beginning to incorporate it into your own life.

*******************************************************

There are three critical things that I've learned over my twenty-plus years, evaluating over one hundred and fifty different business models as a Christian entrepreneur.

I've put together my observations and these three keys (I learned the hard way) into a Christian Entrepreneur Manifesto, along with some step-by-step walk-throughs and demonstrations.

There is no opt-in required.

It walks through my favorite model, the Finders model.

It might be interesting for a Christian looking to start something new or for the first time to escape the "business running them vs. them running their business" or the nine to five and not to have to work for themselves or someone else until the age of eighty.

Check it out here:
https://christianentrepreneurinc.com/kingdomwealthstrategy

I hope it helps!

Blessings,
Paul

PS: God is a big God.

He gives us above and beyond what we can ask or think.

We must ask big.

We must think big.

And if we don't, it's not His fault if we live limited.

Work hard, pray harder, and never ever ever ever quit.

You've got this!

PPS: Whenever You’re Ready... Here's How I Can Help You Generate An Additional $5 to $10k Per Month Or More:

  1. Check Out Our Christian Entrepreneurship Manifesto
    Learn why some "make it" and others don't
  2. Access More Articles Like This
    Sharpen your Mindset, Model, and get Mentored
  3. Watch Our Christian Business Incubator Training
    Learn key lessons from analyzing over 150 different business models, launching ten virtual businesses in ten different markets with ten different models, and hitting six figures in four and seven figures
  4. Schedule A Free Demo Call
    Make sure you read the Manifesto and review the Training first and then let's hop on a call and get all your questions answered about the Christian Startup Business Incubator